TomTom and Man v. Food POI

So for my recent birthday I received a new toy, a TomTom GPS. I love these things! Immediately of course I set out to exploit the device and see what else I could do with it.  Boys will be boys… Turns out, I can’t really modify it so much right now, which is a bummer! I’ve yet to find a place that can walk me through installing a text to speech engine to have it read books to me on long drives, but I can get by just the way it is.

Anyway, once I was shutout on really digging into this thing, I set about loading it up with custom points of interest and even made a set of my own, which although nerdy, I find cool, so suck it.

I found a great site, POIfriend.com that houses a collection of user generated Point’s Of Interest (POI’s) and set out finding something to get the locations of Food Networks Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives, one of my favorite shows btw,  onto my new toy. There is a great set maintained by arount and I’m happy to say I loaded it as soon as I saw it. The site makes POI’s available for a number of manufacturer’s GPS units so Garmin and TomTom users can both use the site, which is a plus.

Taking cues from arount’s set up I decided to fill a hole in television food and travel POI’s and created a set for The Travel Channels Man v. Food. You know the show, it’s the one where the guy (Adam Richman) goes and gorges himself on 46 lbs of pizza or ends up crying like a girl because he ate chicken wings covered in sauce made from a hot pepper fertilized with the excrement of poisonous lizards and airliner fuel or something… I make no arguments for his sanity…

Anyway, now I, and anyone with a GPS system they can hook up to their computer, can follow in his footsteps or more likely, go to the same places and watch some other fool follow in his footsteps!

Enjoy!

KSH

One response to this post.

  1. I was a devotee of Sathya Sai Baba for just over a decade, and made six trips to see him in India. Now no longer a devotee, I use this blog to record Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

    Reply

Leave a comment